espresso & notebook

Schwitters1schwitters_2

I first discovered Kurt Schwitters as a primary school student when our art teacher taught us about collage. What a marvellous idea, I thought, making art from old magazines and food packaging! I became so intrigued with collage I once tore strips of wallpaper off my bedroom wall when I discovered that there was 1950s newspapers underneath.

Tate Britain’s new exhibition, Schwitters in Britain is a fascinating reassessment of the work of Kurt Schwitters, known to most art students for his Merz art – or use of waste paper and rubbish to make collages. Tate Britain’s show focuses mainly on the work he did after fleeing Nazi Germany for Britain.

It’s a poignant story of a leading figure in modern European art who was regarded as a “degenerate” in his home country, and fled to Britain, only to find hostility and indifference there. Anyone who has visited England from abroad…

View original post 467 more words

